Current Issue

Kairos Awards

Call for Nominations: The John Lovas Award

The deadline for nominations is MAY 15, 2020.

Scholars have been making significant contributions to knowledge in rhetoric and composition via the open-publishing tools of the Internet, in much the same way that Kairos has worked to push forward scholarship as the field's longest-running ejournal. The John Lovas Award is sponsored by Kairos in recognition and remembrance of John Lovas's contributions to the legitimation of academic knowledge­sharing using the emerging tools of Web publishing, from blogging, to newsletters, to social media. Each year the award underscores the valuable contributions that such knowledge-creation and community-building have made to the discipline by recognizing a person or project whose active, sustained engagement with topics in rhetoric, composition, or computers and writing using emerging communication tools best exemplifies John’s model of a public intellectual.


The award will be given to the person or project which best meets the following criteria.

The project must:

  • Be publicly available on the Internet.

  • Be at least six months old from the date of submission for consideration.
  • Be updated regularly (an average of at least once per week).
  • Engage with other digital-native academic compositions and knowledge-sharing projects, performing the role of a public intellectual.
  • Address any of the theoretical, practical, or praxis-based issues addressed in Kairos and other journals in computers and writing studies.

Please see our list of past award winners for examples of projects which meet these criteria. As of 2016, the criteria for the John Lovas Award has been opened up beyond blogs to include other digital projects.

Submission Guidelines

Please e-mail your nomination to the Kairos Communication Editors at

In your e-mail, please include:

  • the name and URL of the project;
  • its author(s);
  • a 1-2 paragraphs description that details how the project meets the awards criteria.

This year, awards will be presented online. The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2020. If you have questions, please e-mail the Kairos Communications Editors at

PDF Version of the guidelines