Douglas Eyman
Cape Fear Community College

Contributing author:

Cindy Wambeam
New Mexico State University

Contributing editor:

Mike Salvo


The Wyoming Conference Resolution

WHEREAS, the salaries and working conditions of post-secondary teachers with primary responsibility for the teaching of writing are fundamentally unfair as judged by any reasonable professional standards (e.g., unfair in excessive teaching loads, unreasonably large class sizes, salary inequities, lack of benefits and professional status, and barriers to professional advancement)...

AND WHEREAS, as a consequence of these unreasonable working conditions, highly dedicated teachers are often frustrated in their desire to provide students the time and attention which students both deserve and need...

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Executive Committee of College Composition and Communication be charged with the following:

  1. To formulate, after appropriate consultations with post-secondary teachers of writing, professional standards and expectations for salary levels and working conditions of post-secondary teachers of writing.

  2. To establish a procedure for hearing grievances brought by post-secondary teachers of writing--either singly or collectively-- against apparent institutional non-compliance with these standards and expectations.

  3. To establish a procedure for acting upon a finding of non-compliance; specifically, to issue a letter of censure to an individual institution's administration, Board of Regents or Trustees, State legislators (where pertinent), and to publicize the finding to the public-at-large, the educational community in general, and to our membership.

(taken from: Robertson, Linda R., Sharon Crowley, and Frank Lentricchia. "The Wyoming Conference Resolution Opposing Unfair Salaries and Working Conditions for Post-Secondary Teachers of Writing." College English Mar 1987 (49): 274-80.)

Back to page 1Back to page one.

CWTA Moo Dialogue CWTA Interview CWTA Editorial 4C's '95 CWTA SIG CWTA Web Pages

Contact the Author!